View Full Version : Worst fake PJ story
tonylop33
11-25-2009, 01:16 AM
Could it be true?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200409705762
Jim D.
11-25-2009, 01:36 AM
I'll agree that the guy's story doesn't hold water, especially with the automatic.
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">
mosaleen
11-25-2009, 09:24 AM
Hope Jess Albright sees this and lets us know the truth.
I dought it since I have sat in the 05 concept PJ Saleen itself. They took a black 2005 and painted it Orange, etc and 302 engine and even later S/C with shaker scoop, 07 5 spoke chrome wheels.
Bruce
11-25-2009, 10:38 AM
It is sad that Saleen sells PJ parts / items to non PJ owners. Early on you had to give them your vin number, etc. to place an order. Now Saleen and others are even selling items on ebay. So sad!
wpgfordguy
11-25-2009, 11:34 AM
i reported the item to ebay and I suggest that all members to that as well, the report link is in the lisitng
Jess Albright
11-25-2009, 12:06 PM
Saleen does not sell PJ part's to non Saleen owners!! There are many parts on line that were, "misplaced" from the Irvine facility though. The PJ engineering vehicle was a yellow 05 car that we still have possesion of. So this, as far as I know, is absoulutly not the real thing. The vin on this car does not show up in our system at all. Maybe Jared or someone who was in Irvine the entire time know something more about it.
Thank you
Jess
Barricade
11-25-2009, 12:22 PM
I have a PJ kinda part.... ;)
http://i277.photobucket.com/albums/kk64/crabintakes/Barricade/021-7.jpg
tonylop33
11-25-2009, 01:28 PM
Saleen does not sell PJ part's to non Saleen owners!! There are many parts on line that were, "misplaced" from the Irvine facility though.
Thank you
Jess
I was under the impression that either HP or SPV willingly provided parts to "BuySaleen.com" that were "excess" inventory. "BuySaleen.com" has been selling PJ parts on their site and through Ebay for months. So I don't think all of the PJ stuff online came from Irvine. Am I wrong?
Greg Wackett
11-25-2009, 02:02 PM
Tony I don't think those parts ever made it to SPV in MI, if memory serves correct they went from CA to TN.
Jess Albright
11-25-2009, 02:09 PM
I stand corrected, a little.
They did get a couple parts to sell. I think if I remember right there were center caps, and a couple shift knobs. We had an excess of about 1500 center caps, and about 100 shift knobs. We sold 2 shift knobs all last year to PJ owners, so do the math as to how long 100 would last. We did not sell any badges, wheels (New), shaker kits, seat skins, decal kits, or anything like that. If someone can make a clone PJ car with a shift knob and center caps well then so be it. I would love to see the person who believes it's real. The fact is, to buy the PJ parts we have to get a vin # and verify the car. We try our best to control this and are one of the only companies that do such a thing. How easy is it to clone a Cobra? How easy is it to clone a Roush Black Jack? The answer, VERY.
I have done my best to report people to ebay selling vehicles, or parts that are not authentic Saleen's, though I may miss some here or there. The best thing to do though still is to call and verify the vin with us.
Some of the parts did go right from California to TN, some may have come from Troy. I will not deny that parts may have gone down there that shouldn't have, but if you look most of those parts were immediatly pulled off and brought back to our warehouse. It was hard for me to look at everything that was getting loaded in trucks at that point to make sure nothing that wasn't supposed to go went. I didn't catch a few things and I have been doing my best to police it. If you guys see some parts though that you don't think should be for sale let me know and I will look into it. Please don't call or email me complaining about some used PJ wheels, or some center caps, or a shift knob. I am aware of those parts and it shouldn't really be a problem.
Thank you
Jess
tonylop33
11-25-2009, 02:36 PM
Thank you for the response Jess. I am no way slamming you. I respect and trust you.
That site did or does have badges, Signed PJ/Saleen vent clusters, exhaust tips (there now), mufflers (there now), PJ Pedals (there now), rear bumpers (there now), gauge faces (there now), shift knob (say you stated), rear window slats (there now), wheels (as you stated), a complete engine (there now), DG Hood, etc. The point is that someone could go a long way towards faking a PJ, DG or Heritage car just by shopping there and they got the parts from the source. It is a little frustrating for those of use that spend big bucks at least partly with the idea of exclusivity.
What is done is done and I am glad you have parts on hand for us owners and have better control over what leaves now than in the closing days of Irvine and HP. If someone wants to fake a car they will no matter what. Can they get seat covers and other hard to find items, I hope not, but they could always have them made. At that point it becomes a cost/benefit issue as to how bad they want a fake.
So Jess, I want to thank you for being there through all the turmoil and watching out for the owners of the cars. You and Tony are our best hope when it comes to parts for these cars in the future. I appreciate you guys fighting for us. Happy Thanksgiving!
ps: How about a SuperShaker group buy for the holidays. :wink: "Buy SS and get a free Holiday Turkey!" I now some people might consider me a turkey already.:tongue:
ctann
11-25-2009, 03:05 PM
Looks like the seller added extra info. Still sounds pretty dodgy to me...
On Nov-25-09 at 08:32:15 PST, seller added the following information:
I want be be clear here so please read , this car is not a Parnelli Jones orange car never was , this car a owned by a company working on body manufacturing the bumpers and spoiler package ( CMC ) it was stolen and recovered , it WAS NOT owned by Saleen nor does it have Saleen Numbers as you all know its 40k if it did, this cars mileage is correct and not altered, I do not want to say it something its not , I have the California title showing the owner and recovery, this car has not been wrecked AGAIN IT IS NOT A PJ CAR OR SUPERCHARGED, ITS HAS ALL THE BUMPER PACAKGE GAUGES EMBLEMS ETS AS THE ORANGE CAR SO PLEASE UNDERSTAND THIS LISTING, IT IS IN PRISTINE CONDITION NEEDS NOTHING PERIOD THIS IS A STEAL AT THIS PRICE, TRY TO BUY A STOCK GT WITH 5K ON IT , THE TITLE SAYS BRANDED SALVAGE, THEFT RECOVERY, YES YOU CAN TITLE IT AND DRIVE IT, SOME STATES REQUIRE INSPECTION, I WILL SUPPLY BILL OF SALE AND FLORIDA DMW INSPECTION.